Primary elections yield wide, narrow margins


Runoff between Alexander, Bertram slated in April

By LPR Staff

The most hotly-contested race for Caldwell County Judge in recent history is not yet over. With Tuesday”s Primary Elections complete and the dust beginning to settle, and two candidates in the Democratic Primary have advanced to a runoff election to determine who will fa

ce Republican Tom Bonn in November”s general election.

Morris Alexander, a former member of the Caldwell County Commissioners” Court, rose to the top of the pack of five Democratic Party candidates for Caldwell County Judge as the votes were counted on Tuesday evening. Alexander earned 763 votes, around 30.3 percent of the total votes cast in the election.

Seated Lockhart mayor James “Jimmy” Bertram was the second-place finisher in Tuesday”s primary, gathering 667 votes (26.51 percent). According to election judge Mary Vicky Gonzales, the two will now move to a runoff election, because no candidate was able to secure a majority (50 percent of the vote, plus one). That election will take place on April 13, 2010.

Currently-seated Lockhart ISD Trustee Juan Alvarez, Jr., earned 18.7 percent of the vote (471), trailed closely by another former commissioner, Herb Schulze, who gained 17.1 percent (430). Political newcomer Rodrigo Amaya rounded out the field, earning 185 votes.

Elsewhere in the Democratic Party, seated Precinct Four Commissioner Joe Roland successfully defended his party”s nomination against Lockhart City Councilmember Frank Estrada.

Roland earned 69.8 percent of the vote (574) to Estrada”s 248 (30.2 percent).

Roland will likely face a challenger in Republican Grant Rostig, who initial results say won his party”s nomination by a narrow two-vote margin, 138-136, over Grady Keenan. Word as to whether a recount had been requested was not available at press time.

In the race for Precinct Two County Commissioner, Edward “Eddie” Moses (67.6 percent) defeated Gilbert Guerrero (32.4 percent) to win the Democratic Party”s nomination to the November ballot.

Moses will face Republican Fred Buchholtz who defeated Ken “Kenny” Gossett, 336-303.

Two political newcomers, Carol Holcomb and Misty Jennings, squared off on the Democratic Party ticket for the position of Caldwell County Clerk, which will be vacated by longtime clerk Nina Schmidt Sells this year.

Holcomb earned 54.1 percent of the vote (1,283) to secure the victory over Jennings (1,087). The Republican Party did not present a candidate for the office, so Holcomb is expected to run unopposed in November.

Incumbent County Treasurer Lori Rangel-Pompa faced a close race from Armanda N. Maloney in the Democratic Party Primary, with the final result being decided by 99 votes.

Rangel-Pompa earned 1,206 votes, to Maloney”s 1,107.

Like Holcomb, Rangel-Pompa is expected to run unopposed in November. At this stage, the only way a candidate could face a challenge in November would be if an Independent candidate successfully petitions for an opposing place on the ballot, or a write-in candidate is presented.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.