City, school elections Saturday


Polls will be open on Saturday, May 10 from from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. so voters can make their voices heard regarding a variety of different positions in Caldwell County.
Three seats are up for grabs on the Uhland City Council, those of the Mayor and two Aldermen.
Albert Busse and David Ayala will compete for the mayor’s chair, which will be vacated by Daniel

Heideman, and Gordon Sassman, Glen Smith, Ellis Deloya, Robert Wilson, Cleto Duran, Jr., and Rick Tobias will compete for two available Adlerman positions.
In Lockhart, a three-way race for the City’s top spot pits incumbent James “Jimmy” Bertram against challengers Deward Cummings and Fred Wiegand, Jr.
Two of Lockhart’s single-member district positions are also available. District 3 incumbent Lew D. White is running unopposed to return to his seat, while Richard Banks and Donna McCrary are competing for the District 4 seat that will be vacated by Michael Sanders.
Perhaps the most-watched races will be those in the Lockhart Independent School District Board of Trustees election.
Four seats are up for election to the embattled board of trustees, with only one incumbent seeking re-election.
District 1 incumbent Timoteo “Tim” Juarez, Jr., faces challengers Johnny Miranda and Carl Cisneros for his seat.
The District 2 seat vacated earlier this year by the resignation of Gary Allen will be filled by either Andy Govea, Brenda Spillman or Terri Tedford.
Clint Mohle opted not to return to his District 3 seat. Susan Brooks, Mike McCain and Rosemary Wells will compete to represent that district.
Also, longtime board member Carl Ohlendorf opted not to return to the board, and will be replaced by either Derek Benavides, Allen McKee or Dennis Placke.
Finally, voters in southeast Caldwell County will have the opportunity to decide whether to allow the Gonzales County Underground Water Conservation District to annex more than 77,000 acres of water-rich property in Caldwell County. Though the district did not publish a notice of the exact metes and bounds of the subject property in either of Caldwell County’s newspapers, they said they mailed a copy of the notice to every registered voter in the affected area.
Check next week’s Post-Register for full election results.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.