Eight file for school board candidacy


By LPR Staff



Each of four races for seats on the Lockhart ISD Board of Trustees will be contested this November, as candidate filings have been completed for the upcoming election.  Two incumbents, Timoteo “Tim” Juarez, Jr., and Brenda Spillmann, will seek reappointment to their positions, though each will face a chal


In District One, Juarez will square off with Carl M. Cisneros, a third-time candidate for the school board. Juarez narrowly bested Cisneros for the seat in a three-way race in 2008.

In District Two, Spillmann will seek her second term against political newcomer Atanacio Apolinar Partida.

Board President Susan Brooks, the seated representative for District Three, has chosen not to seek re-election. Her seat will be filled by either former longtime trustee Fermin Islas, or Jessica Neyman.

This is Neyman’s second foray into the election process, having entered the recent special election for the vacant At-Large position eventually filled by Rick Womble.

District Four Trustee Alfredo Munoz has also chosen to leave his position at the end of his current term. In his place, voters will choose between former trustee John Manning, who served on the board from 2005-2008, and first-time candidate John Reyes.

The three At-Large positions currently held by Juan Alvarez, Tom Guyton and Womble will be up for election in November 2014.

The Lockhart ISD Single-Member District election will be held concurrently with the Nov. 6, 2012 General Election.

For more election details, information about the candidates and a schedule of proposed political forums, watch future editions of the Post-Register.





Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.