LISD announces winners for 1.5 Champions and Lion’s Heart Awards



Lockhart ISD is proud to announce the winners of the 1.5 Champion Awards and the Lion’s Heart Awards for the 2023-2024 school year.

The 1.5 Champion Awards recognize teachers who truly represent the “Spirit of 1.5” in going above and beyond to grow their students on their campuses. They are selected by their campus principals. 

Lion’s Heart Award winners are outstanding staff nominated by their peers for exemplifying excellence in their roles. The superintendent’s cabinet team reviews all the nominations and selects the winners for each category.


1.5 Champion Award Winners:

Alexandra Bejarano, AB Strawn Elementary

Ashley Noto, Bluebonnet Elementary

Craig Walter, Carver Early Education Center

Jennifer Reed, Clear Fork Elementary

Bridget Fuller, Navarro Elementary

Vianney Alfaro, Plum Creek Elementary

Kristen Everhart, Lockhart Junior High 

Gregory Foster, Pride High School

Carolyn Coburn, Lockhart High School

Lion’s Heart Award Winners:

Sarah Schnautz, Substitute of the Year

Raymond Facundo, Custodian of the Year

Oralia Castro, Child Nutrition Employee of the Year

John Pyle, Transportation Employee of the Year

Richard Garcia, Maintenance Employee of the Year

Laura Hernandez, Instructional Paraprofessional of the Year

Nancy Lopez, Office Paraprofessional of the Year

Suzanne Gaddis, Professional of the Year

“We’re proud to celebrate the exceptional efforts of our Lockhart ISD team members who always go the extra mile,” Superintendent Mark Estrada shared. “Our students are at an advantage thanks to their commitment to being Locked on Excellence and serving with LockHeart for People.”

The 1.5 Champion Award winners, Lion’s Heart Award winners, and Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the annual Service Awards on Thursday, May 2 at Two Wishes Ranch.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.