Primary ballots promise challenges, changes


By LPR Staff



Filing closed this week for places on the March 2014 Primary Election ballot, and with the closing of filing came some surprises, and several things the community on the whole knew were coming.

The most notable surprise came from seated Caldwell County Judge Tom Bonn, who announced on Dec. 5 that he would n

ot seek re-election.

Bonn said, in a press release posted to the Caldwell County website ( that “[without] reservation I have decided to honor my families (sic) request and not seek reelection to the position of County Judge.”

Bonn’s statement went on to thank his supporters and express gratitude to the agencies on which he serves as a board member, as well as expressing pride for his many accomplishments as County Judge.

The seat that Bonn will vacate next January is one of the most sought-after positions in the upcoming Primary Elections, with one Republican, Ken Schawe, and three Democrats, James “Jimmy” Bertram, Fermin T. Islas and Paul Gomez each seeking the position.

Another widely-sought position is the seat of Caldwell County Commissioner, Precinct 2.

Incumbent Commissioner Fred Buchholtz will not face a challenge from the Republican Party for his seat, but come November, he will face one of four candidates, Susan K. Stewart, Chuck Cutshall, Edward “Eddie” Moses and O.J. Wade, who are seeking the Democratic nod.

The race for Caldwell County District Attorney will be settled at the Primary Election level.

Incumbent DA Trey Hicks has opted not to seek re-election. However, Fred H. Weber and Richard Banks will face off in the Democratic Party Primary for the seat, as no Republican candidate filed for the position.

Each of the four Justices of the Peace have seen only one Democratic candidate and one Republican candidate file, and those races will be settled next November.

Precinct 1 JP Matt Keily has filed for re-election, and will face a challenge from Democratic newcomer Aurora “Rhoda” Chavira.

In Precinct 2, longtime Justice Homer Horne (D) will be square off with Republican challenger Patricia E. Oringderff.

Precinct 3 Justice Alfonso Campos opted not to file for re-election, and his seat will be filled by either Republican Ben E. Brady, or former Precinct 3 Justice and Democrat Mary Alice Llanas.

Precinct 4 Justice Raymond DeLeon is seeking a third term, but must first withstand a challenge from Republican candidate David LaPoint.

Republican District Court Judge Jack Robison is not being challenged for his seat, nor is Democrat County Court at Law Judge Edward L. Jarrett.

Treasurer Lori Rangel, County Clerk Carol Holcomb and District Clerk Tina Morgan, each of whom filed on the Democratic Party Primary ballot, are also unopposed in their races.

In regional races, Incumbent District 27 US Representative Blake Farenthold will face a November challenge from Corpus Christi Democrat Wesley Reed.

Susan Narvaiz, of San Marcos, will run on the Republican ticket to challenge incumbent District 35 Representative Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin).

District 17 Representative Tim Kleinschimidt (R) hopes to return to the Texas Legislature during the next session, but will be challenged by Democrat Carolyn Banks, of Bastrop.

The last day to register to vote in the 2014 Primary Elections is Feb. 4, 2014, and early voting begins on Feb. 18. Follow future editions of the Post-Register, or visit us online at, for election information as it develops.



Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.