Uhr named District champion


The Lockhart Boys Varsity Cross Country Team ran a strong race last Saturday at the District 27-4A meet held at the Lockhart City Park. The team claimed the title of District runner-up and in the process qualified for the Regional Meet to be held on Saturday, Nov. 3, in San Antonio. Lockhart has now claimed a spot in the Regional Meet for the 24th time in the past 25 seasons.

Boerne Champion won the team championship with 37 points. The Chargers, the defending Class 4A State Champions, placed four runners in the top eight finishers overall. Lockhart scored 70 points to claim second. Alamo Heights finished a close third with 73 points, while Samuel Clemens scored 74 points and missed going to the regional race by only one point. Hays placed fifth with 107 points and were followed by Kerrville Tivy in sixth with 146 points, Lehman in seventh with 191, and Seguin finishing eighth with a score of 234 points.

Lockhart Senior standout Robert Uhr was the overall winner. Uhr ran the 5,164 meter course (3.2 miles) in 16 minutes and 45 seconds. For Uhr, the victory was his eighth straight victory this fall.

Lockhart has now produced the individual district champion 18 times in the past 25 seasons.

Lockhart senior Nic Avey ran a strong race once again as he finished sixth in 17:43. Following Avey for the Lion harriers was sophomore Sergio Moreno (15th, 18:13), senior J.D. Amaya (20th, 18:26), senior Joseph Hefner (28th, 18:56), and junior Erik Moreno (30th, 19:09).

“Qualifying for regional was a team effort; every one of our runners competed with pride today,” said Head Coach Scott Hippensteel. He added, “We are now going to focus on running a great regional race.”

The Lockhart Boys Junior Varsity finished fourth out of the eight district schools competing.

Senior Xavier Espinosa and sophomore Taylor Stephens led the way for the Lions. Espinosa and Stephens finished ninth and tenth overall, respectively. Tyler Tamayo finished in 24th, and was followed by Ryan Arms in 26th, Robin Rounthwaite in 47th Michael Roehr in 52nd, Sabass Amaya in 68th, Nic Weatherby in 77th, and Tyler Spillmann in 83rd place.

The Lockhart Boys Freshmen won the District title for the 21st time in the past 25 seasons as they narrowly beat Hays by just three points. Lockhart scored 26 points, while the Rebels tallied 29 points.

The freshmen harriers were led by Marco Sillero, who ran the 1.9-mile course in just 10:37 seconds. Teammate Martin Salinas came home just 18 seconds later and grabbed the runner-up title. Daniel Mireles finished sixth, and was followed by Denver Carter in seventh, Scott West in tenth, Gabe Teakel in 13th, Rafael Martinez in 15th, Dale Caswell in 16th, Josh Hawkins in 18th, Colt Pierce in 20th, and Robert Masters in 21st place.

The Lockhart Varsity will be running this Saturday in San Antonio. Twenty-four teams will be racing to claim the top three places to guarantee a place in the State Meet on Nov. 10. The top 10 individual finishers will also qualify for the State Meet in Round Rock.





Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.