Early runoff voting begins Monday


LPR Staff Report

Early voting for the primary runoff elections will begin Monday in Caldwell County.
Those who voted in the Democratic primaries may only vote in the Democratic primary runoff, and those who voted in the Republican primary may only vote in the Republican primary runoff.
If you’re a registered voter and you voted in neither primary, you can vote in whichever party’s primary runoff you choose.
Those voting in the Republican primary runoff will be choosing between incumbent Caldwell County Judge Ken Schawe and challenger Hoppy Haden, who came fewer than 10 votes shy of securing his party’s nomination in the primary. All voters in the Republican primary runoff will also choose between Donna Davidson and Mike Toth in the Third Court of Appeals, Place 6 election.
Depending on what district they’re in, voters will also decide whether sitting Caldwell County commissioner Terry Wright or challenger BJ Westmoreland secures his party’s Pct. 1 commissioner nomination and between Bech Bruun and Michael Cloud for District 27.
Democratic primary runoff voters living in U.S. Congressional District 27 will decide between candidates Raul Roy Barrera and Eric Holguin.
All Democratic runoff voters will choose between gubernatorial nominee candidates Andrew White and Lupe Valdez.
Early voters may vote at the Scott Annex Building at 1403 Blackjack St. in Lockhart from 8 a.m-5 p.m. May 14-May 17 and from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on May 18. The same times and dates apply to Luling Civic Center at 333 E. Austin St. in Luling.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.