J.H. Lion track wins district championship


The Lockhart Lion 7th and 8th grade track teams capped off the season by winning a pair of district championships. All the athletes who competed for Lockhart exemplified the true meaning of athletics on and off the track.
The 8th graders ended their Junior High career with two district championships while the 7th grade group did their part by starting what will hopefu

lly be the first of two district championships.
“I will miss coaching this year”s 8th grade group when next track season rolls around,” Coach Gifford Whitehead said. “However, I will be looking forward to coaching the 7th graders who will be back next year.”
Some of the more notable performances on the 7th grade side were first place winners Kevin Silva (2400,1600, and 4×400); Brooks Pittman (400,800, and 4×400); Jay-Alan Baltierra (Discus); Landon Kelley (Shot Put ); Kyle Medina (4×400); and Moses Ramirez (4×400).
Second place winners were Kyle Medina (2400, 1600) Moses Ramirez (400, 800); George Deleon (200, 4×100); Devonte Sanders (4×100); Rudy Gonzales (4×100); Nick Leija (4×100); and Brooks Pittman (High Jump).
Third place winners were the 4×200 team (Devonte Sanders, Mackenzie O”Neill, Chris Perez, and Nick Leija); Paul Brite (110 hurdles); Devonte Sanders (200); and Javier Alarcon (Discus).
Fourth place winners were George Deleon (100); Paul Brite (300 hurdles); Nick Leija (Long Jump and Triple Jump); and Javier Alarcon (Shot Put).
Fifth place winners were Omar Estrada (400); Mackenzie O”Neill (Triple Jump); and Joseph Rodriguez (800).
Sixth place winners were Mitchell Mcree (1600); and Mackenzie O”Neill (Long Jump).
Other athletes who participated at the district meet for the 7th graders were Tim Bohanon, Brock Bowen, Chad Conaster, Nick Johnson, John Madrigal, Patrick McNally, Jaylin Orosco, Landon Pederson, Dylan Plummer, and Landon Rivera.
Notable 8th graders were first place winners in the 4×400(Ryan Gonzales, Brian Martinez, Roy Garcia, and Tyler Tolley); Ryan Gonzales (2400, 1600); Roy Garcia (800); Samuel Yanez (110 Hurdles); Brian Martiinez (400); and Dion Turner (Shot Put).
Second place winners were Dominique Hardaway (100, Long Jump); and Samuel Yanez (300 Hurdles).
Third place winners were Mark Hagan (2400); Nolan Lockhart (100); Brian Martinez (200); Roy Garcia (1600); and Dominique Hardaway (Triple Jump).
Fourth place winners were the 4×100 team (Dominique Hardaway, Tony Moreno, Nolan Lockhart, and Cody James); Manuel Hernandez (800); Kendall Till (300 Hurdles); Cody James (200); and Noah Tunningley (1600).
Fifth place winners were the 4×200 team (Nick Hicks, Tony Moreno, Nolan Lockhart, and Cody James); Noah Tunningley (2400); Tony Moreno (100); Tyler Tolley (400); Nick Hicks (200); and Jose Aguillon (Discuss).
Sixth place winner was Stephen Salazar (Triple Jump).
Other 8th grade participants at the district meet were Lawrence Brite, John Craner, Steven Ebner, Jose Espinoza, Mathew Jackson, Brandon Kenny, Dylan Mysserley, K.J. Pamenter, Brandon Scott, and Wagner Mcree.
(Courtesy of Gifford Whitehead)


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.