Lockhart Chamber of Commerce hosts annual banquet


By LPR Staff

Celebration of Lockhart”s business community was the order of the day at the Lockhart Chamber of Commerce”s annual banquet on Saturday evening, Jan. 29. The event, held at the TDS Exotic Wildlife Ranch near Creedmoor was equal parts reverent, with heartwarming tributes to two Lockhart businessmen who passed away this year, a

nd irreverent, with a lavish buffet and gaming tables as a nod to the evening”s “Casino Night” theme, Longtime chamber emcee Kenneth Sneed offered tributes to William “Peck” Westmoreland and David J. “Buddy” Michelson, two business and civic leaders who Sneed said, “went to their reward this year.” Although the tributes were warming, they were in no way somber. Rather than a moment of silence, Sneed asked for a round of applause for Westmoreland. Then, during his comments about Michelson, Sneed continued: “I wouldn”t dare give Buddy a moment of silence, either.” Instead, the crowd, Longhorn and Aggie fans alike, saluted Michelson with a heart-felt “Hook “Em!” The Lockhart Chamber bid farewell to five outgoing Board of Directors members: Lew White, Gail Livengood, Richard Mendez, Shane Sklar and Tim Clark. New Board Chair Barbara Gilmer then welcomed and introduced the Chamber”s board members and officers for the new year. The 2005 Board of Directors are: Barbara Gilmer-Chair; Jim Sells- Chair Elect; Wayne Long-Past chair; Mike Annas, Terry Black, Clovia English, Mark Hinnenkamp, Greg Hardin, John Hall, Diane McCommas, Christine Ohlendorf, Joe Roland, Russell Seeliger, Rick Selvera and Terry Wright. Special recognition was given to several members of the business and civic community for their contributions to Lockhart in 2004. Awards were given to: Spirit Awards: Linda Springfield, Pastor Wayne Walther, Russell and Charlene Tiner, Jim and Amelia Smith and the Irving Club; Agribusiness Person of the Year: Louise Graham; Business of the Year: Lifestyles (Jim Albert); and Most Worthy Citizen of the Year: Dorothy Buckner. Of special note, Graham”s award marks the first time a woman has been named “Agribusiness Person of the Year.”


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.