May 10 election promises changes



Change is in the air.
As candidates gear up for what promises to be an exciting spring election season, it becomes perfectly clear that the citizenry of Lockhart ISD are ready for a change. With 12 candidates on the ballot and a 40-percent turnover on the LISD Board of Trustees guaranteed, that change is imminent.
When all was said and

done on Monday, three trustees opted not to return to the board table after elections. Gary Allen, who was elected in 2005, resigned his seat last month. One-term board member Clint Mohle and long-time trustee Carl Ohlendorf also chose not to throw their hats into the ring.
Timoteo “Tim” Juarez, Jr., in fact, is the only incumbent up for election this year who seeks to retain his seat.
Juarez, the currently-seated board president, will face challenges for the District 1 single-member seat from long-time area residents Carl Cisneros and Johnny Miranda.
In District 2, former trustee Andy Govea seeks to return to a place at the board table. Competing with Govea for the seat are former district employee Terri Tedford and Brenda Spillman.
District 3 boasts a three-way race between former Lockhart Junior High School principal Susan K. Brooks, and relative area newcomers Rosemary Wells and Micheal McCain. Prior to last month”s resignation of Superintendent Tom Bailey, McCain had also expressed an interest in running for Lockhart City Council. Sources familiar with McCain suggest he feels his talents will be best spent with the school board.
The District 4 seat will see a change for the first time in more than a decade. Ohlendorf has occupied that place on the board since 1994. This year, seeking to replace him are former board member Dennis Placke, Derek Benavides and Lawrence “Allen” McKee.
Also on May”s ballots are three seats on the Lockhart City Council.
Lockhart Mayor James “Jimmy” Bertram has filed for what he has suggested might be his last term in office. He will face two opponents at the polls, longtime area resident Fred Wiegand and Deward Cummings.
District 4 Councilmember Michael Sanders opted not to refile for election, but will be replaced by either Richard Banks or Donna McClary.
District 3 Councilmember Dr. Lew D. White alone will run unopposed to retain his seat.
Upon learning how widely the May races will be contested, Bertram expressed excitement.
“It”s a good thing – it”s good to see this many people interested and getting involved,” he said Tuesday. “When this many people step up and want to take their turn [at running for office] it means more ideas will get out there, and a better cross section of the community will be represented.”
To vote in the May 10 election, voters must register prior to April 2, 2008. Early voting in the election begins on April 28.
Watch future editions of the Lockhart Post-Register for election updates and comprehensive candidate profiles.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.