District honors school board trustees at monthly meeting


From Staff Reports

The Lockhart Independent School District on Monday night honored its Board of Trustees for School Board Recognition Month.
Each January, LISD joins other districts across Texas in recognizing the dedication of the leaders who volunteer to serve on the school board. Elected by the community, each works to represent the interests of the community to support and secure the success of LISD students.
The LISD Board is comprised of Brenda Spillmann (president), Carl Cisneros (vice president), Tom Guyton (secretary), Steve Johnson, Michael Wright, Becky Lockhart, and Warren Burnett.
“The work of the board has a direct impact on student achievement in Lockhart ISD,” said Superintendent Susan K. Bohn. “We are proud of their work and grateful for the support they provide our students and staff through the challenges and opportunities we face as a fast-growth district.”
The board’s responsibilities include managing an annual budget of more than $54 million while making decisions that affect 5,900 students, 725 employees, and nine campuses.
In this past year, the board has focused on developing a new vision statement for the district, “Building a legacy of excellence,” as well as specific district student performance targets for this school year.
In addition, the LISD Board was the first in the State of Texas to complete the eXceptional Governance (XG) board training with Texas Association of School Boards, setting the example for others on how school boards can actively participate in student achievement.
Members were honored by students from each of the district’s campuses with gift baskets and certificates for their service.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.