Early voting starts May 14 for runoffs


LPR Staff Report

Early voting for the primary runoff elections will begin Monday, May 14 in Caldwell County.
Those who voted in the Democratic primaries may only vote in the Democratic primary runoff, and those who voted in the Republican primary may only vote in the Republican primary runoff.
If you’re a registered voter and you voted in neither primary, you can vote in whichever party’s primary runoff you choose.
Those voting in the Republican primary runoff will be choosing between incumbent Caldwell County Judge Ken Schawe and challenger Hoppy Hayden, who came fewer than 10 votes shy of securing his party’s nomination in the primary. Voters will also decide whether sitting Caldwell County commissioner Terry Wright or challenger BJ Westmoreland secures his party’s Pct. 1 commissioner nomination and between Bech Bruun and Michael Cloud for District 27.
Democratic primary runoff voters will decide between District 27 candidates Raul Roy Barrera and Eric Holguin, and gubernatorial nominee candidates Andrew White and Lupe Valdez.
Early voters may vote at the Scott Annex Building at 1403 Blackjack St. in Lockhart from 8 a.m-5 p.m. May 14-May 17 and from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on May 18. The same times and dates apply to Luling Civic Center at 333 E. Austin St. in Luling.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.