Polling places set for HD17 runoff


By LPR Staff



As two candidates continue to woo voters across Texas House District 17, the Caldwell County Commissioners Court named polling places for the election during a special called meeting on Friday.

According to an order issued by Gov. Greg Abbott late last month, the runoff election will be held on Feb. 17, 2015. Early voting f

or the election begins on Monday. The Caldwell County Commissioners chose to consolidate several polling places, and will have 10 polling places open on Election Day, as Lockhart resident John Cyrier squares off with Bastrop’s Brent Golemon for the seat vacated by Representative Tim Kleinchmidt’s resignation, almost immediately after his reelection in November.

Caldwell County Election Administrator Pamela Ohlendorf has made provisions for early voting from Feb. 9 – 13, in accordance with the Governor’s order. As in most elections, early voting will be available at the Scott Annex Building, 1403 Blackjack St., in Lockhart, and at the Luling Civic Center at 300 E. Austin St., in Luling.

Voters may vote by personal appearance at those locations from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. on Monday – Wednesday, Feb. 9 – 11, and from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. on Thursday and Friday, Feb. 12 – 13.

Voters are reminded that, under state law, they must present an approved form of identification to vote by personal appearance. Approved forms of identification, according to the Secretary of State’s office, include: Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS); Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS; Texas personal identification card issued by DPS; Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS; United States military identification card containing the person’s photograph; United States citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph; or United States passport.

On Election Day, voters will have to determine which polling location is appropriate for their voting district. Ohlendorf released the list of polling locations this week, and assured voters that signs will be posted at former polling locations, informing voters who may have voted there in the Special Called election where they should cast their vote in the runoff.

Election Day polling locations, which will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m., are as follows:

Precinct 100 (consolidated with 101, 103, 105, 111 and 408)

First Lockhart Baptist Church

315 W. Prairie Lea St.

Lockhart, Texas 78644


Precinct 104 (consolidated with 102)

VFW Post 8927

7007 US Highway 183

Lockhart, Texas 78644


Precinct 204 (consolidated with 205)

McMahan Community Center

6022 FM 713

McMahan, Texas 78616


Precinct 206 (consolidated with 201, 202 and 203)

Luling Civic Center

300 E. Austin St.,

Luling, Texas 78648


Precinct 301 (consolidated with 305)

Three Rivers Community Church

103 Main St.

Martindale, Texas 78655


Precinct 302

Maxwell Fire House

9655 Highway 142

Maxwell, Texas 78656


Precinct 303 (consolidated with 118 and 306)

Trinity United Church Annex

13700 Camino Real

Niederwald, Texas 78640


Precinct 401 (consolidated with 109, 110 and 412)

St. Mark’s Methodist Church Hall

602 E. Live Oak St.

Lockhart, Texas 78644


Precinct 402 (consolidated with 108, 400, 409 and 412)

St. Mary’s Catholic Church Parish Hall

205 W. Pecan St.

Lockhart, Texas 78644


Precinct 404 (consolidated with 405)

Chisholm Trail Fire-Rescue, Lytton Springs

9839 FM 1854

Dale (Lytton Springs), Texas 78616

For questions about your polling location, voters are urged to contact the Elections Office at (512) 668-4349 before Election Day.

To watch election returns, follow the Post-Register on Facebook.



Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.